Saturday, October 27, 2012

Josh's Birthday is today....

.... so I thought I would try to do something real nice for him.   I decided I'd make him a good breakfast and decorate the house a bit, and of course make him a cake.   He's only been awake for a few hours and I got flack for everything but the streamers- that, he showed an appreciation for and liked/got a kick out of. 

for breakfast, I made stuffed french toast(have you had IHOPS stuffed french toast? Its bang). I havent made anything pumpkin yet, aside from the marshmallows, and we have fresh pureed pumpkin so I decided to make a pumpkin pie cream/custard for the filling and I also made some homemade cinnamon whipped cream.  I stayed up late to make sure that the filling and whipped cream were made and ready for the morning.   Sadly, I forgot the bacon.   

 He was going to get together with a friend and I had plans to go to a craft show (which ended up being a bust, btw) so I made his and wrapped it up so he could heat it up when he finally got out of bed.  I got home before he was out of bed, so I was home when he ate it.   He had some smartaleck things to say about what I made and then he had a smart ass comment about not making eggs. He expectedd me to make eggs and then let them get cold so he could reheat them- GROSS! Nevermind that I put a lot of thought into making something and took the time to prep it before I even went to bed. AND I made sure that it wasnt too pumpkiny (like I wouldve liked it) and I made it creamier than custardlike to appease more to his senses.  I didnt have to make him breakfast, and I def didnt have to make sure it was ready for him to heat up when I left.  Needless to say, my feelings were hurt. 

Then we move to the cake. Over a month ago, he told me he wanted German Chocolate Cake. When I asked what he wanted a week or two, to be sure just incase he changed his mind, he told me he didnt care.   I had gotten a response from a craigslist ad I posted about a fondant covered cake. I had never done fondant before (I've only done 3 cakes, remember?) So I knew I had to start somewhere and  I saw a recipe for Chocolate Marshmallow Fondant  (I hope I did it right, I miscalculated the amount of sugar so had to keep adding and adjust) so I figured I would give it a go with his cake.  plus the cake store I go to finally got some large moose cookie cutters in, and I REALLY wanted to put a moose on his cake.  Cuz he's my sugar moose (its totally a play on sugar bear from honey boo boo, im not gonna lie).    I decided to go with chocolate cake and chocolate icing- since we didnt have all the ingredients for german choc cake, and he did say he didnt care- he even added that I didnt even have to make him a cake...

I mentioned somethin about the cake and then he had something so say about that too!   When I told him, if he still wanted german chocolate I could still do it he said no worries and then under his breath he was like "its my birthday..." Wel then why didnt he just say so, only need a few items.   Ay..    I made choc cuz I know he likes it, if it were soley up to me I wouldve made a pumpkin apple spice cake.   yummmm.....

he did apologize for being an ass, before he left the house. but It still bothered me and I still feel under appreciated.   I know he's stressed, but aint no reason to take it out on me - ESPECIALLY when I'm doing stuff for him!   

No comments:

Post a Comment