I have never made biscuits from scratch, only the packaged kind. And I LOVE buttermilk biscuits. Like I would go to Hardees and order a plain biscuit for breakfast or go to KFC just to order a box of biscuits and have them eaten before I even got home. Hell, when I worked at McDonalds I would be sure there were enough biscuits for me to take home and eat- aside from the griddles and occassional chicken nugget it was pretty much the only food i'd eat there. Naturally I decided that I had to make them myself, so I finally did it!
I was told to use LOTS of flour...
Mmm...buttermilk....
My ghetto biscuit cutter. One of these days, I'll invest in a real one....
don't hate on that hot mess that will be the happiness of biscuits!
My assistant! Ain't he precious!!!!!!!
they look fresh from the box from McD's! Only better....
I always thought that biscuits would be something 'hard' to make, which is why i waited so long to make them, but it was actually real easy! I think it was easier to make these than sugar cookies!!! And they tasted DAMN good! I just wish I wouldve made them thicker... Next time... def next time.
I found the recipe through pinterest on "The Country Couponer"- check it out!
Since I was making buttermilk biscuits, I just had to make buttermilk oven fried chicken! It had to be oven fried, because I dont pan fry- I'm a chicken when it comes to popping oil, and I didnt want to deal with the mess of my deep fryer. I pretty much winged it..... it was DELISH!
This makes me want to cook more, but I dont like the mess it leaves....
Looks like I'll be keeping buttermilk in the fridge from now on.... =)
Hey Kristen, After reading your comment on my blog I decided to check your's out. I love blog hopping (or stalking) and meeting new and interesting people. I really enjoyed reading some of your posts. I appreciate the link back! Thanks!!
ReplyDelete