So I came across this link on a mom forum that I'm a part of on facebook and appreciated it...
http://ctworkingmoms.com/2013/06/11/end-the-mommy-wars-special-photo-edition/
When talking about how you'll do things with your babies/kids some people get totally nazi about it and its just straight up ridiculous.
I've got a friend who at one time (I'm not sure if she still feels this way), went on a rant about how horrible of a mother you are if you choose not to breastfeed. Does it really matter that much on whether you choose to breastfeed or not? All that really matters is that you feed your child and theyre being taken care of. Yeah, I breastfeed but the main reason behind that is that its free. And if my sister didnt buy me a nice pump, I probably never would have stuck with it when Jacob was born. We had latching problems and it hurt like a champ in the beginning....
People just seem to be judgy about everything. Breastfeeding, diapering, cosleeping, the list goes on..... One of my cousins has two and cosleeps with them and my mom was QUICK to say that was bad. When I stepped to her defense and said that we've done it from time to time, she was once again quick to say that that was bad.. Who's to say that its good or bad? Theres evidence out there that supports both. We coslept with Jacob for a little bit because it was easier. We chose not to do it with Amelia. As Jacob got older, he made it harder to sleep- he'd want to play in bed, he;d take up all the space, insist on sleeping on top of us, etc... So when we decided to move him to his own bed officially, it was just a pain in the arse so to avoid that we opted not to cosleep with Amelia. Though I won't lie, I sometimes bring her to bed or fall asleep on the couch with her so I can get my snuggles in... PLUS when you cosleep its much harder to get intimate time in with the hubs, its hard enough when you've got kids to begin with!
Point being... As a parent, you do whats best for you. It may not be the same for everyone else. It may not be popular, but you do what works for you and your family.
Parenting is def a learning curve- trial by error, you learn from your mistakes kind of thing. And all kids are different, so some things may not work for one like it did the other. Heck, Joshy just called me out the other day on how differently I am with Amelia than I was with Jacob as an itty bitty. I didnt even realize it! Guess its the whole food thing, if she shows an interest in it I'm gonna let her try it- even if its ice cream, which I totally frowned upon with Jacob until he was one.
No comments:
Post a Comment