So I'm a part of this moms group on facebook. Its kind of awesome for the most part. People vent about thir kids, life, husbands.They ask for advice, give advice, share little antedotes. I enjoy it.
Today someone said that 3 of her sisters struggle with weight, they work out but eat a lot, and she feels that her 9 year old will struggle with weight as well. She goes on and asks, "how do i teach my daughter portion control without offendig her.its something she needs to know"
It seemed like a legitimate question so I gave her my input. this is what i said:
My daughter is almost 1 and a big eater. She favors my husbands side of the family- his brother is a big guy, of his 7 sisters about half of them have had weight problems, and his moter was a big woman until she got bypass surgry- so odds are, Amelia may be a chunky girl too. My parents are telling me I need to watch what she eats so she wont be huge. Yes,I dont waant to set her up to be a BIG gir, but if shes on the bigger side so be it. I refuse to have a girl who feels like she HAS to watch what she eats. People are made in all shapes and sizs, just because someone is thinner doesn mean they are healthier. With that being said, we do try to eat relatively healthy in my house- fresh fruits & veggies, I try to avoid frozen meals, and we hardly ever buy sugary drinks. I think the best bet is to teach kids how to live a healthy lifestyle- eat rigt, exercise a bit, and its ok to indulge every once in a while. Girls are going to have issues with their body no matter what- big or small- its just human nature. I feel that teaching kids portion control or calorie countig is going to cause them to worry more about how much is going in than the quality & that adds another sress to it and opens up a whole new can of worms...
I've obviously thought about this alot. I hope I am successful with this when Amelia gets oldr and she doesnt feel the need to be soo concerned about her weight like some are....
So in typical Kristin fashion, i took the liberty to facebook stalk the mom who postd the question. I half expected to see a woman on the 'thicker side' & fully expected to see that her daughter was chunky/slightly overweight. I was apalled at wht i saw. the mom looked to bbe about my sisters size- shes not a bg person at all- & her daughter wasnt chunky at all! she looked like a 9 yr old should look! This woman just peeved me off! so much so that its over 12 hours later and i'm still heated about it. Shes complaining that her kid is eating ptato chips and multiple smores on a camping trip & concerned that shes going to be BIG whenshes just the right size! Its just a camping trip for gods sake- let your kid be a kid!
Ay.... its just ridiculous. Theres always so much fuss about body image in girls. More and more young girls worying about what they eat, more turning to eating disorders and whatot. They like to blame the media, models, movies stars, and Barbie.. Well id hate to break it to ya, but its not their fault. Its because of moms like that and its just straight ridiclous. i know i already said that , but its true. All people are made different, embrace your dfferences. Thin does not mean happy or make your better/prettier. I know that that could sound weird coming from me since im a 'little person' but being smaller isnt always what its crcked up to be. I sometimes shop in the kids dept for shirts cuz its cheaper- a 4yr at Jake's babysitter's pointed out that shes got the same shirt. I'm 29 with the same shirt as a 4yr- embarassing (thoughim not gonna lie, i dig the shrt- its little mermaid & its still nt gonna stop me from shoppin in that section. still feel lke a weirdo when i do it). I went to an urgent care place when I was about 14 weeks pregnant w Amelia & my arm was so small that they had to use a children's blood pressure cuff on me. embarassing. .Just be healthy, more mportantly be happy. theres no reason we should be puttng so much pressure on young girls to be thin!
arg..... end rant...... thank you for listening...
Friday, June 27, 2014
Thursday, June 26, 2014
So Joshys been out of town for work since the end of April. I thought it would suck biz-alls,, like the last 2 times he left when Jake was a baby but it actually hasnt been too bad! The house is much more disorganized but clothes are getting washed and more importantly the kids and i are still alive and in 1 piece. =P One of the hardest parts was lack of computer. And not because of facebook.. i knnow, shocker.. but because of pinterest! We've only got computer and he pays the bills so he took it. All of my rcipes are saved on pinterest and none of my gotos are in paperform so i was lefft hangin when I wanted to bake or ry a new recipe.. no fun!!!
Lucky for me, joshy found a deal on groupon for a tablet so im back and reconncted to the world and my recipes! its probably not the greatest thing out there but it suits my needs so i have nno complaints. i can fb, pinterest, downloadbook, pndora....And it came witha shnazzy keyboard so its like havn a lil laptop. =P Jacob ws real excited when he saw me tke it out of te box. that was until i told himnetflix wasnt on it.... homeslce took ovr the kindle before it died because of netflix so im holdin off for as long as i can!
Lucky for me, joshy found a deal on groupon for a tablet so im back and reconncted to the world and my recipes! its probably not the greatest thing out there but it suits my needs so i have nno complaints. i can fb, pinterest, downloadbook, pndora....And it came witha shnazzy keyboard so its like havn a lil laptop. =P Jacob ws real excited when he saw me tke it out of te box. that was until i told himnetflix wasnt on it.... homeslce took ovr the kindle before it died because of netflix so im holdin off for as long as i can!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)